Recent, Unedited, Client Reviews

We are humbled and grateful for all the wonderful reviews we have received from our clients, and we appreciate any feedback you have to offer after your session. If you would like to leave a review, please email us directly at wellness@AlchemyHealingArtsCenter.com

MK says: My most recent appointment with Amelia was wonderful. I woke up the next morning with a wonderful sense of wellbeing and calm, and that feeling has continued through the week afterwards. Thank you!

KF says: “I wanted to let you know that when I went to my PT appt on Monday morning, she could tell a big difference in my soft tissue. She kept telling me that the massage therapist (Lynne Brummitt) was doing a great job. She was really impressed with the progress that she made in all different areas. I have felt that way, but it was nice to have it confirmed by another practitioner. I look forward to continued healing with the massages.” February 2015

LK says: “I thoroughly enjoyed my last treatment with Amelia. The castor oil made a huge difference. My shoulder feels so much better than it has in months!! I’m looking forward to my new treatment.” February 2015

K says: “I have to be honest, I always fall asleep during my massage with Shelby, but that in itself is a compliment, because I feel completely secure with her as my therapist. Thank You Ms. Shelby!” February 2015

SO says to the question, how was your couple’s massage? “It was fantastic! Thanks!” February 2015

LB says: My CranioSacral Therapy sessions with Laura was “wonderfully relaxing, peaceful and healing. Thank you repeatedly!” February 2015

CM says: “In one word..... "Wonderful".... See you soon Shelby!” January 2015

BM says: “I have been feeling good! I have lots of energy plus there was very little pain Wednesday. The session on Tuesday had a very good effect on my body.” January 2015

LL says: “I have never had a message before. Shelby is very nice, explained everything before and after the session. I was ready for a nap when I left (which is great). I never got that nap. I was called into work. I can’t wait until January (my next appt).” December 2014

KP says: “It was fabulous! Shelby did a great job on my two really tight areas. I could have stayed longer. You all have one amazing healing center.” October 2014

PW says: “I very much enjoyed my visit with you on Wednesday. I found Alchemy Healing Arts Center, to be very inviting, clean, and extremely soothing. I immediately felt as if I was sitting on the beach enjoying the sounds of the surf. I appreciate the time you took to listen to my concerns, and to educate me on CranioSacral Therapy. After our session, I felt so relaxed. The next day I did feel some intense pain in my jaw, but I am thinking that is to be expected. Overall, It was a very pleasant experience, and I am very much looking forward to my next visit.“ October 2014

SK Says: “Long-lasting pain relief – many thanks to Laura for the long lasting pain relief she has given me using the CranioSacral techniques. Laura does an excellent job of analyzing and treating the specific areas of pain and injury that need treatment. This technique is exceptional because it provides the most long-lasting pain relief I have had and I've tried a number of other therapies including chiropractic. I highly recommend Laura and the CranioSacral technique for outstanding pain relief. October 2014

JK says: “Shelby was wonderful. Shoulders are much more open!!! Thanks so much!” October 2014

CT says: “Looking forward to the next session. Thank you for a new way of healing.” September 2014

TP says: “My treatments have been wonderful. Amelia is very thorough. The work she did on Saturday seems especially beneficial. I feel clearer and less lumpiness in the area. :-) Yipee! Thank you.” September 2014

BD says: “The massage with Amelia was wonderful! I have been sleeping really well this week and my shoulder feels better!” September 2014

KS says: “Sessions with Amelia are always wonderful. I get the healing I need, plus information for maintaining and supporting the work. Seriously, I have a severe case of psoriatic arthritis and I'm sure I'm one of the more challenging clients. This work has been so helpful for both bundles of symptoms, with a noticeable improvement of the movement limited by the arthritis, and dramatic improvement of the psoriasis rash. I am deeply grateful for the help I've received here. Namaste...” September 2014

JR says: “The Reiki was wonderful - so relaxing. I went straight to radiation afterwards and hardly knew where I was! Can't wait for another hour.”

Our reviews were in a different system for 2013 and earlier, and included stars.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★I Know Great Therapy
6/12/2013
CS Says: Shelby has wonderful technique, excellent instincts in healing,great pressure and wonderful touch. You can tell she loves her work. She has been working on me for a while.I have Chronic Spinal pain and her work has helped me. I'm a former Massage Therapist and know great therapy.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Wonderful first session
6/5/2013
MW says: Had no idea what to expect and still not sure what happened. I have been very skeptical of alternative methods of healing and still not sure how Laura so quickly id'd and began to treat the apparent primary sources of pain.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Completely Relaxing
5/10/2013
Lindsay R says: I had a massage done yesterday with Amelia and I am 37 weeks pregnant. It was absolutely amazing and relaxing. I would recommend for any expecting mom. Thank you Amelia for a wonderful time!!!!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Awesome!
4/06/2013
Debbie M. says: Amelia really helped me with lymphatic issues in my neck. I felt better right after my fist appointment with her and can't wait for my next appointment!!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Awesome!
1/25/2013
Alfreda J. says: I had my first session with Amelia last night and she was a consummate professional! She took the time to go over my medical history and concerns and answered my questions. She then explained what she was going to do and why. I can truly say that I noticed a difference after our session! I can hardly wait for my 2nd session next week!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Ahhhhh
9/12/2012
Laura R. says: What a difference 90 minutes makes. Thanks, Amelia, for your healing touch.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Lymphatic drainage ROCKS!
7/28/2012
Lynda C. says: I had my first lymphatic drainage session with Amelia this week. I was feeling heaviness in my chest, having dizziness and severe fatigue. I couldn't have a conversation without yawning. After one session, I feel great! The heaviness and dizziness are GONE and I am already much less tired. I can't wait for my next session! Thanks Amelia!!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Thanks Amelia
7/11/2012
Megan M. says: I needed some lymphatic drainage work done And Amelia booked me right away . She was Awesome and I'm already less swollen today . Can't wait for next week !

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Chronic Migraine Sufferer
2/15/2012
Katie L. says: Just had my second session with Laura and felt so great afterward. Had a migraine all day and after the session it was virtually gone. Completely relaxing and stress relieving experience. I've suffered with my migraines since I was 16 (am now 28) and am hoping that with CST I will finally learn what it's like to wake up without a headache!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Just Amazing!
10/26/2011
Julie J. says: My first experience with craniosacral massage was an amazing experience! It's incredible how such a light touch can relax you so much that you fall asleep. Can't wait to get back to see Laura and her healing hands! Everyone should try it!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Migraine Free for months
9/15/2011
Richard H. says: I have been seeing Laura for the past five to six months to help control Migraine Headaches. Her methods are amazing, her touch is healing, my sessions with Laura transform my tension and anxiety into calm, relaxed, clear minded state, and I have been without a headache for nearly four months. My body and especially my head knows when it is time for a tune up, and oh how great I feel after.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★The gentleness of Laura's hands
8/18/2011
Pattie S. says: I had never experienced CranioSacral Rx. before, It was so gentle. The lymph drainage was new to me, also. I was very impressed by both! My muscles in my neck and shoulders were actualy supple after the session. I felt so much better. This is magic. Will be back soon!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★The gentleness of Laura's hands
7/12/2011
ML Says: Well, Laura, let me just say thank you from the bottom of my heart. Your CrainoSacral Therapy caused me to have to most positive day in many months after I left your office, even though you said we may 'stir' up some old negative emotions. I felt energetic, happy, and peaceful. I slept well for the first time in a long time. I can't wait to see you in two weeks with my son! Thanks!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★The untold story of lymphatic drainage!
4/19/2011
Mimi T. says: I have been having a hard time healing since my abdominalplaasty surgery. I had excessive swelling and this was hindering my sutures from closing and the skin around my navel was extremely hard to the touch. I had been to several surgeons to get professional advice on what was happening with me. During one of these visits, the surgeon mentioned that I should look into having a lymphatic drainage/massage. This lead me to the "healing hands" of Amelia! Within the first visit, the hardness around my navel had softened up and I was eliminating fluid (through urinating) all day/night long. By my second visit, my stomach was visibly smaller and my incision began to heal. Doctors need to start recommending lymphatic drainage/massage with "every" surgery to aide in the healing process. Amelia worked wonders on me!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Long Overdue!
4/10/2011
Maresa W. says: Of all the massages I have had over the years, Amelia is the first therapist that I have wanted to see again. Each time I walk away feeling refreshed and relaxed. She always listens to my needs and addresses my problem spots appropriately. It has been almost a year since my last appointment with Amelia, but I won't let another year slip by without a visit - my next appointment was on the books before I walked out of the office! Thanks for being amazing Amelia!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Relaxed and Rejunvinated
4/1/2011
Kristi S. says: I can always count on leaving Amelia's table relaxed and rejuvinated. She listens to your concerns and her intuition is spot on! Thanks Amelia!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★First Session with Laura for Cranial Sacral Therapy
3/9/2011
Rebecca L. says: I had my first session last night with Laura for Cranial Sacral Therapy and it was intensly fabulous. I have been in severe pain due to a herniated disc in my neck for the past 2 years. Refusing to give in to traditional surgery, I have been open to any and all options that may give me some sort of relief. Laura may just be this relief. She was extremely helpful in answering my questions and giving me lots of interesting information. Her gentle touch was amazing and for the first time in 5 days I woke up without a headache. I can't wait until my next session!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Amelia the Great
1/15/2011
Janette B. says: My experience with Amelia Mitchell was wonderful. She gave a complete massage that left me feeling relaxed and pain free all over. I would gladly reccommend her to family and friends. She took time to assess my needs befoe beginning and I found her to be personalable.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★A new and improved back!
11/27/2010
Tierney C. says: I have had very bad back problems for multiple years due to a very horrific car accident. My first massage with Amelia was not only relaxing and soothing -- but educational. She helped me understand where my pain was coming from and illustrated some exercises that I may be able to utilize when in pain. I would highly recommend her to anyone! She is simply amazing!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Diminishing Migraines
11/16/2010
Ellen Y. says: As a migraine sufferer for over 20 years, I have sought help from many different types of therapy. After several sessions of craniosacral therapy from Laura, I experienced more relief from migraines than with any other type of therapy. The CST is actually helping my body to heal itself. I am continuing to schedule monthly massages to support the healing. Thank you, Laura, for your understanding, gentle touch, expertise, and I can't forget to mention your wonderful sense of humor, which is also good therapy!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Amelia is the best!
11/2/2010
Jill h. says: I have had many massages with different people over the years, and have never had the experience with them that I have with Amelia! I have TMJ and neck and shoulder pain problems and always say at the end of my session, " I have a neck again! it is'nt just sitting right on top up my shoulders! Amelia always knows what work my body needs and delivers! She is wonderful!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Awesome Experience!!!
9/14/2010
Targee B. says: I am 31 weeks pregnant with twin girls and really needed some attention on areas of my body that was really causing me some discomfort. The typical, hands, feet, back and neck.... The massage was very relaxing and I felt like I was in good hands. Would definitely recommend!!!!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Healing Therapy
9/6/2010
Eugenia P. says: Amelia was nothing short of GREAT. My first session of lymphatic drainage massage was amazingly soothing, but more important, I saw immediate results with my swelling shortly after returning home. Amelia really took some time to talk to me about my procedure and the benefits of the massage. She also took time to explain what she was doing during the therapy session and I was immediately placed at ease. She has a BEAUTIFUL spirit and I am blessed to have come across her ad. on-line.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Lots of "ah ha" moments
8/29/2010
Pam L. says: Having my first-ever post surgical lymphatic massage was not only a feel-good experience, but an educational one as well. She provided insight about how my body worked/why it felt the way it did...something no surgeon had ever done. Amelia offers a very comfortable, attractive and peaceful setting, without the spa "fru-fru." She surpasses the standard spa experience with her very tuned-in massage and getting-to-know-you style. I'm looking forward to every aspect of my next massage.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Targeted for me.
8/12/2010
Jay M. says: Amelia was terrific. She listened to my particular needs and targeted the massage to meet them. She definitely knows what she is doing! .

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Amazing
6/1/2010
Adrianne W. says: First session of craniosacral therapy for my son. I'm still wrapping my head around the technical terms of what CST is but to SEE what it did for my son in just that one session was wonderful. He was so relaxed. And what a happy (and hungry) little boy afterwards! We are very excited to continue our sessions with Laura!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Spring
4/17/2010
Kim M. says: As a self proclaimed massage phobic, I chose Amelia to help me with some back strain because she seemed different from other massage therapists; more like someone I could trust. My insticts proved to be correct- she is amazing. Not only did I get immediate relief, I also now have a deeper understanding of how to maintain and enhance conditions in my lower back. Thank you Amelia for your patience with my phobia!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Wonderfully Soothing and Healing
2/14/2010
Patricia S. says: Amelia has the hands of a healer - as a licensed massage therapist myself and a self-proclaimed "connoisseur" of massage I can say that Amelia can get you feeling better no matter how "out of whack" you may be feeling!

★ ★ ★ ★ ★Baby Love
1/26/2010
Kelly K. says: I could not ask for more tender and loving care of my twins and myself. I can share that from creation of the twins to the postcare of my adorable daughters, Amelia and Laura are angels to our family. Their talent can not be explained in words completely. You need to experience it for yourself to understand the depths of their abilities and their human touch of the soul and spirit is resoundingly huge. The changes that I have had and seen within my daughters physically has been a healthy and grounding start to a better future. We will always be within their care, even if the drive becomes longer than our current two hour excursion each way. It is well worth every minute of our time and effort to be apart of their practice. May the fog and toxicity be lifted from anyone who wants to better themselves with Amelia and Laura's treatments and care.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★The Magic Hands of Lady Amelia!
11/13/2009
Sara P. says: Whether it's emotional stress, physical strain or exhaustion, Amelia will set you to rights. I have to admit I was skeptical at first- having had "spa massages" I *thought* I knew what a good massage was supposed to feel like. How wrong I was! Amelia is truly good at what she does, at listening to her client, and more importantly, her client's body. If you want to pay for atmosphere, go to a spa. If you want a massage, go to Amelia.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★She put my head back on straight
11/6/2009
M. L. says: While in another city on business I had a massage at a well-known massage school. As I lay there on the table, feeling a little pummeled by the enthusiastic therapist, I thought, "Oh, Amelia, save me. Where are you when I need you?" I quickly made an appointment with Amelia when I returned home to get my head put back on straight!

Thank You!

Earlier Reviews

"Amelia's touch is one of a kind. I have been blessed to receive some of the most amazing massages over the last twenty years, from Thailand to Spain and all over the US at some of the best spas, and I can wholeheartedly recommend Amelia as one of the very best." - DL, Annapolis

"Initially I came to see Amelia for pain in my neck and shoulders, and tightness in my upper back. Amazingly, I have re-discovered what it feels like to take in a deep, full, easy breath, and I have experienced relief of a chronic, dull ache in my lower back from an injury of many years ago." - KW, Columbia

My neck hurt the other day, and it really was a problem. Then I realized it used to hurt like that, and worse, every day before I began seeing Laura. And now it doesn't." ~A. M.

"I did it! I ran a mile and a half today, and my knee doesn't hurt at all. I made love to it the whole time, thanking it for what it was doing, and it feels great. I can't stop smiling!" ~J. H.

"My body work session with Laura was wonderful as always. Deeply relaxing and healing." ~ T.D.I.

"As I'm lying there with my eyes closed I have the sense of a Mother Earth energy field enveloping me, and I am soothed from the inside out." - MH, Annapolis

"Receiving bodywork from Amelia Mitchell is much more than getting a massage. While I always leave feeling like warm, melted caramel and without a care in the world, those are just the 'superficial' benefits. On a deeper level, I know I have done something good for my body that will last well beyond the lovely afterglow effects." - MA, Annapolis

"Amelia is a gifted teacher with great energy and wonderful examples, thank you for a great class!" Workshop Participant

"Amelia brings out the best in me." LB, Annapolis

"The economy is making most of us more frugal in how we spend our hard earned money; however I will not sacrifice my visits to Amelia." - CH, Annapolis "Christmas of 2006 my wonderful husband gave me a gift certificate for a one-hour massage from Amelia. He found her on the internet and was taken by her compassionate approach and just had that feeling I would enjoy a session with her. I have since purchased gift certificates for family members and they have confirmed how amazing Amelia is. Her ability to read your body is uncanny." CH, Annapolis

"Few massage therapists have the intuitive capability to deliver a massage that is truly restorative. Amelia has this ability and is the best at her profession." - MR, Virginia

"Amelia Mitchell, LMT, has been my professional massage therapist for over a year. I feel she has not only taken away my pain, making me able to sleep better, I feel she has given me my life back." - RM, Annapolis

"Amelia is incredibly skilled, but she is also talented, capable of bringing deep connection to those she works with and using her talents to heal from the inside out." - AM, Annapolis

"My doctor told me my problem was chronic and offered me medication for an indefinite period of time - but it was Amelia Mitchell that actually helped me to heal from frozen shoulder. She is a gifted massage therapist." RBH, Annapolis

"I look forward to my sessions with Amelia and I recommend her highly to anyone seeking an effective and gentle healing touch." KW, Columbia "After my first session with Amelia, I was hooked." - CH, Annapolis, client since early 2007

"Being a doula, I have both given and received many massages over the years. Amelia is not only an excellent massage therapist, but her heart is evident in the work she does. The atmosphere was both relaxing and inviting and I would highly recommend Amelia's personal touch to any of my friends, clients or colleagues." BL, Arnold

"Shortly after surgery I had the privilege to have Amelia give me a massage. Because of the position I was placed during surgery my neck and back were tight and achy. Amelia worked these muscles till they were smooth and relaxed despite my not be able to lie on my stomach. I left the table beaming with energy and happiness. Amelia seems to have a gift for relaxing both the body and the soul." Donna Curry, Annapolis

"A few months ago I started having swelling and discomfort in my hands and was diagnosed with carpal tunnel. The doctor immediately said I should have surgery. I mentioned the carpal tunnel to Amelia and she suggested doing some lymphatic work along with my general massage. Immediate relief, and needless to say, I don't plan on having surgery." CH, Annapolis

"Each time I have visited Amelia, I have felt well cared for, physically and emotionally. She is an expert in her field as well as a warm and genuine person to interact with." - A, licensed clinical social worker

"Amelia is incredibly skilled, but she is also talented, capable of bringing deep connection to those she works with and using her talents to heal from the inside out." - AM, Annapolis

"I look forward to my sessions with Amelia and I recommend her highly to anyone seeking an effective and gentle healing touch." KW, Columbia

"I want to tell everyone about the amazing experience I had in Amelia's hands. Amelia is very caring and works with your body, not on it." - KK

"Thanks to Amelia's lymphatic work, I recovered much quicker." - HM, Davidsonville

I truly believe that taking the time to receive massages and the lymphatic work contributed to me getting pregnant with my second child." - KG

"I saw Amelia for massage during my pregnancy. I loved those sessions; I knew I was in good hands because she had training specifically for pregnancy massage. Amelia knew how to support my aching body, provide comfort and much needed relaxation." - KK, Reiki Master and Reflexologist

"During my pregnancy massage sessions Amelia is in tune with what my body needs. I just go along for a wonderful ride." - KP, Bowie

"I saw Amelia for massage during my pregnancy, and it was even better when she came to my home for my postpartum massage. Once I was home with the twins, not only did I not have to leave my home and babies to see Amelia, but she made me feel as though she were helping my body remember where everything belonged. I believe my time with Amelia enhanced the joy of those days." - KK

"I look forward to my get away visits to Amelia's haven for a massage ... her TLC is far more than I have received from many other massage therapists over the last 25 years." - MH, Davidsonville

"Few massage therapists have the intuitive capability to deliver a massage that is truly restorative. Amelia has this ability and is the best at her profession." - MR, Virginia

"Amelia Mitchell, LMT, has been my professional massage therapist for over a year. I feel she has not only taken away my pain, making me able to sleep better, I feel she has given me my life back." - RM, Annapolis

"My doctor told me my problem was chronic and offered me medication for an indefinite period of time - but it was Amelia Mitchell that actually helped me to heal from frozen shoulder. She is a gifted massage therapist." RBH, Annapolis